I Read Less.

I fear I lack all the necessary reading that a writer must have. I haven’t read much of the classics and I freely admit my love for books turned BBC mini series such as ‘Bleak House” by Charles Dickens.

I know they say that all good writers must read, read, read and read some more. I do read but I simply haven’t the time to sit and read for more than about 15-20 minutes. I would love more time but with family, school, work and my own general interests such as this blog, I find little time to sit and enjoy the great invention called books.

Books on tape have been my savior and I am lucky to actually, physically read books twice, but closer to once a year. I often end up skimming them as closely as can be done, sacrilege I am sure. I take what I can get.

I have, however, been brushing up on my children’s literature due to my homeschooling ways. What my daughter reads, I read. I have also been very lucky to read along in historical works with her and some fun stuff such as Greek Myths and Viking tales.

So though my reading is less than what I’d like it to be, I suppose for now, it will work.

4 thoughts on “I Read Less.

  1. I read a lot less often than I used to too. I think it’s a side effect of motherhood. Like you, as a homeschooler, I read things related to my children’s reading. I read things related to my youngest daughter’s autism. But I don’t find nearly as much time to read “for myself” as I would like. I don’t like audio books. My husband loves them. But if I try listening to someone else read, my mind wanders.

    I used to be able to devour a book in a day, reading right through distractions, etc. But ever since my car accident years ago, I have major issues with distractions when reading. If I can hear a TV or radio or conversation in the house, then I cannot concentrate on what I am reading. I can handle reading small things like blog posts, in those situations. But if I try to read a book with distractions going on, then I will suddenly realize I don’t remember anything I read in the last 2 chapters. Needing quiet to read, has been the biggest deterrence to my reading like I used to. When is it ever quiet? Unless you sacrifice sleep for reading. LOL!

Leave a Reply

