The Universe Unfolds As It Should.

I was recently interviewed by the local paper here. The interview (found here )leaned heavily on the fact that I was “covered” in tattoos. I do not think of myself as heavily tattooed though I suppose to the average four or fiver joe, that I am.

Now there are always haters. They are everywhere. I recognize we all have different ways of perceiving life and what’s right,normal and fair. So I was not shocked that a couple of people commented rather negatively about me on the online version of the article. What did make me step back a bit, was what they had assumed about me based ONLY on the fact that I was tattooed. Their comments are below.

LAwoman: Just wondering why a writer would need to have their life exyperiences inked on their body when they can put them down on paper? I’m a bit old-fashioned and would firmly object if any of my three daughters got a tatoo. I guess I’m old enough to think of tatoos as something drunken sailors got on shore leave.

JDwilson: The ways in which people want to desecrate their own bodies is a private issue, as long as they can cover it financially. Just hope this gal isn’t like so many that are willing to spend their monies on tatoos, piercings, and other non-essentials, but ‘need’ tax-payer provided assistance like free school lunches, health care, housing, and the like.Kellet likes to think of herself as an ‘independent thinker’. I just hope she provides for her children ‘independently.’

(I did not correct their grammar. Just couldn’t bring myself to.)

Ladies, I think you left out the part where I’m a whore, raging alcoholic and pedophile.

For the record incase any of you are wondering, I am married to a tattoo artist (married 13 years), I have been on medical assistance before when I truly needed it but am not presently, and the only money I have shelled out to get tattooed was 100 bucks. I know, shameful. Seriously, I should be paying a lot more to be this tattooed! Haha!

How quickly we jump to conclusions and make snap decisions based on limited information. I was a bit angry for their judgments of me and the type of person they thought I was based solely on my tattoos. Yet, even I was judging them. As soon as I read what they had to say, a picture of who they were based solely on their comments began to form. JDwilson was some prize wife who had never struggled once in her life not knowing the sinking feeling of HAVING to live off of government help. She probably drives a brand new Mercedes and has blonde, teased hair. LAwoman was just old and bitter at life for the most part. She may have been a desk clerk somewhere, pretty sure she’s Baptist.

So even I judged them, I’m not better. My husband said this morning as we read over the comments, “Maggie, there is no use hating on another man, because you are only hating on yourself.” Sometimes my husband is so level headed and wise I want to punch him.

We will always judge by appearance ( as I pointed out in the interview), it’s natural to do so. I see a woman dressed like Barbara Bush with a scowl on her face, I immediately think she will be narrow-minded. I see a man in a business suit with grey hair and I immediately think to myself that he’s some kind of big shot money bags with lots of opinion but no ass to back it up. These are snap judgements made with no ground to stand on. I am no better than they.

When I feel unfairly judged, though I try not to notice, I remember a line from Harold and Kumar Go to White Castle,

“Look at me. I’m fat, black, can’t dance, and I have two gay fathers. People have been messing with me my whole life. I learned a long time ago there’s no sense getting all riled up every time a bunch of idiots give you a hard time. In the end, the universe tends to unfold as it should.”

So next time you feel unfairly judged, remember the universe tends to unfold as it should. You can read that however you wish. For me, it gives me a free pass to not care or give thought to the negative.

Live life and get on with it.

 

Leave a Reply

