And I’m Back! For this moment ….

I obviously have not been writing on my blog as of recent. There are many good reasons for this, unfortunately one is NOT that I won Mega Millions and am now wealthy, wealthy, I mean stinking filthy rich wealthy!

A little catch up for you. Or if you like you can stop here and just wait till I have something extremely fascinating to say, but don’t hold your breath too long.

I started writing more outside of the blog world. I have taken up a couple of challenges to hone my skills. One was a contest to write a horror story based on some comic book illustrations. It could be no more than 2,000 words and it had to describe  a transformation of a character pictured in the comic. So, in two thousand words I had to familiarize you with the character but also describe his transformation and by the end of it have you feel you know and understand the new character as well as the old, yet different all together. Confused yet?

I toiled on it and over all I was happy with my submission, in the end I did not win the contest but what a great and fun challenge it was for me.

After doing this I was inspired to find new challenges. I found one in an online writing community I am apart of, NaNoWrImO.com . A few times a year they have writing challenges. In November it is to write a novel consisting of 10,000 words in under a month, I have participated twice and sadly have never finished a story. This months challenge is to write a hundred page script in under a month.

Now I have never written, nor attempted to write, a play or script. So I checked out a couple of books and searched the web for tips, do’s and don’ts and general info on how to write such a beast. I knew it was going to be challenging but after reading and studying, I have only been able to stare forward at my computer, the little cursor blinking impatiently at me as I try in my mind, to figure out how in the hell tell a good, fun and entertaining story in only dialogue. God Help me! I have a lot more respect for the poor bastards who do this for a living.

So aside from just life, that is what I have been up to.

I plan on posting more often, but I make no real promises.

The End. (Walk off into sunset……Fade to black)

6 thoughts on “And I’m Back! For this moment ….

  1. Hey, it’s good to hear from you and know you are ok. I was beginning to wonder about you just a little. 😉
    I signed up for the WEGO health blogging challenge. Not sure what kind of insanity was in my mind when I thought that doing that during April (which is typically the busiest month of the year for my family) was a good idea. But, I’m trying. LOL
    Sorry about the lottery. 😉
    Have fun with your writing and post when you can, we miss you!

    • Thanks! I have missed writing on here, I have kept up on everyones blogs but commenting hasn’t been tooo much of an option, I am always either too tired when i read them to leave anything understandable or just plain don’t have the time. Which sucks a bit as I like feeling connected to my blogging buddies. I am looking forward to your April blogs, but I knwo what you mean about April being busy, it’s a busy one for us too!

  2. I really thought your submission for the contest was fantastic. I think it’s great that you’re looking for ways to challenge yourself and improve your writing skills. You are amazing and I admire your determination to continually challenge yourself in terms of your varied creative talents. Keep on writing – you definitely have a huge talent!

Leave a Reply

