To ‘Steph’ AKA Sales Whore..A Reply

I love getting comments that are sales pitches. So, this is for “Steph” who left this comment on my blog “The 8 Month Itch”.

“House hunting can be very frustrating but will be well worth it once you find the one. Another thing you might want to consider is life insurance. I work for IntelliQuote and we can help you understand life insurance without any commitment from you. Check out our website. http://www.Imamoneygrubbingbitch.com”

I obviously changed her website…Oh Steph,  Fuck you very much.

8 thoughts on “To ‘Steph’ AKA Sales Whore..A Reply

  1. Spam sucks. If you switch from hosting here on wordpress.com, to self-hosting using wordpress software (like I did), the number of spam comments you get skyrockets. Then they try to sell you Akismet (the same spam blocker they have as part of wordpress.com for free). Some days the number of spam comments are higher than the number of visitors to the blog, which I find highly suspicious.

      • Well, I don’t regret switching. I like having freedom to do more different things. I like the service with wordpress.com and there is less you have to worry about, but the TOS is fairly restrictive. I like being able to participate in the occasional blog promotion with a company or two. And even though I don’t choose to do it often, it’s been nice. Someday I would like to do a little bit of ads. Nothing intrusive, but I like having the *option* of being able to monetize if I want to. So I’m not unhappy that I switched. But the spam is annoying. I could pay akismet, but honestly it just goes against the grain to pay them when I feel a bit scammed by it. Still, all in all, I like WP sooooooooooooooo much better than blogger. I can’t stand the clunky formats on blogger. And they make it such a pain to leave comments on blogger blogs anymore, it makes me not even want to visit them. I *hate* captchas. Hate them sooooooooo much. I’d much rather take the extra few minutes to delete spam (or even pay akismet), rather than make my readers deal with captchas.

      • Agreed. I used to be with Blogger before I came to wordpress. I quit blogging for a while and when I went to return to blogger, I was like “Really?! Has Blogger always been this bad?” So I am happy to be with wordpress and I think eventually I will make the more permanent switch and pay WP a bit to have a .com address. Thanks so much for your input, it has been incredibly helpful!

  2. I get crap like this all the time. As DorkyDeb said, it’s worse on a self-hosted site. My daycare biz site gets all kinds of spamtastic comments. It’s ridiculous. But I do like my site, so I put up with it. You definitely need your own .com. You’ll probably figure out how to work yours more than I’ve figured out mine. Then you can tutor me. 😉

Leave a Reply

