The End of The World (Final Part of Whiskey, The 8 Month Itch and The End of The World)

It’s 2012. Tonight I am watching a movie titled ‘2012’. John Cusack stars and I love him, so naturally I abandoned my regular viewing for him.

We all know or have heard about the Mayan calendar and how 2012 could be the end of all things ( come december). What they don’t tell you is that the Mayan Calender does not say our earth will end only that something big will happen and that this will change all of the world, either for the negative or positive. But we love a good story (and panic) so all that is told is the world is going to end.

Anyways this got me thinking about a conversation I briefly had with one of the bakers I work with. We’ll call him Leprechaun or ‘L’ for short.

L randomly asks questions, he’s very awkward but sweet too. He turns to me one day and asks, ” So Maggie, what would you do if you found out that the world was going to end in 5 minutes?” Now I am not going to think about this seriously with anyone but my closest friends and of course the blog world (don’t hate!), so I joke and say the one thing I have heard my father say my whole life, “Well ‘L’, I’d bend over, put my head between my knees and kiss my ass good-bye!” He cocks his head sideways and says, “Well, that’s cynical.” The other baker, we’ll call him Frenchy, says ” I think I’d get right with my creator”.  I then said, “Why? If you can’t commit to one before impending doom, why now?” To which he replied, “I don’t think you can judge that until you are there”

So what started as a hypothetical question has now become philosophical. I hold a hard-line. I am very honest about my beliefs. I am not going to pretend that I know everything. I feel there is a God and that he is personal and caring, but perhaps that is what I want him to be and not the reality. But i do feel that if you aren’t going to commit to something why cry out when death is at your door. Where’s the heart?

W.C. Fields was dying. He was adverse to christianity. A friend came into his room and found him reading the Bible. When asked what he was doing he said, “I’m looking for a loophole.” I can respect his honesty.

I know that we are complacent, all hoping we live until we are 80 plus years, taking our life being lived NOW for granted, but who knows when the gig is up?

For me in the past few years, life has been about self discovery and searching for truth. I still do not know. I pray to God in my quiet moments in bed with my whiskey, asking for guidance in my life as a mother and wife and an individual. I don’t know all the details about him but I will not take things for granted. I will not complacently stand by and just push the questions to the back of the mind. If all questions were re-routed underneath all the other daily thinkings, we would not be a technically advanced society. Einstein wouldn’t have discovered shit and we’d still be beating sticks together for our only form of music.

Despite the end of the world coming or not coming, we shouldn’t push the questions aside. Who knows what we will discover along the way about life and ourselves.

4 thoughts on “The End of The World (Final Part of Whiskey, The 8 Month Itch and The End of The World)

Leave a Reply

