“Hell, there are no rules here – we’re trying to accomplish something. ” Thomas Edison

Life takes us by surprise. One minute you are sure,the next questioning. One day you are young, you blink and you have more lines than a road map. Each day offers some of the sameness we have grown accustomed to and in it, it mixes a bit of new road.

In the last year I have experienced a lot of changes. A fire threatened my home, I moved to a new state and a new part of the country, I started a new job, I made new friends and I lost one in the process. Change happens and we either roll with it or we get rolled over, either way we get a bit of bruising and keeping our goals in mind helps to make the beating worth while.

Having children helps to remind me that I want to be an example for them. I don’t want my kids to lay down in the face of adversity, but rather rise above it and become victorious. My daughter and I had a long talk about failure recently. I told her that real failure was not trying your best. It is important to know that we will fall short in life even when we try our hardest, but if we really put our best foot forward we can count it successful, even if we do not accomplish what we wanted right then. We perhaps learned how not to do something, or maybe we met a challenge we will have to keep working on. Like Edison said when he discovered 1,000 ways NOT to build a light bulb,

“If I find 10,000 ways something won’t work, I haven’t failed. I am not discouraged, because every wrong attempt discarded is another step forward.”

Learning from our “failures” can be the best step towards success. In the past I have laid down and given into the wariness so I can attest that fighting for something that you want, in the end, brings you more rest than giving up or in ever will.

So I hope today I can continue to pass that on to my kids and that tomorrow will bring an even greater stride towards the wanted future.

May your wanted future be ever in your sights.

6 thoughts on ““Hell, there are no rules here – we’re trying to accomplish something. ” Thomas Edison

  1. Great post! I love that quote from Edison. It makes me think of homeschooling. 🙂
    Not to say we don’t have rules, but we aren’t burdened down by them. Just yesterday we postponed classes till later in the day because it was a nice warm day (in January!) and their Grandparents called and invited them out for a bike ride. I thought to myself, “THIS is one of the wonderful perks of not following the norm, being able to ride bikes with your grandparents in the middle of a nice day, without missing any school work.”

Leave a Reply

