Awkwardly Yours

I am an awkward person. I usually have nothing of any great interest to others to say, which leaves me sitting listening to other folks conversations. And when I do have something to say, it’s usually not very appropriate, said at the wrong moment or so completely off subject that everyone pauses for a brief second to try and figure out what the hell I am saying.

I am much more comfortable with people who joke and laugh easily, because then I can banter back and forth with them and that is as natural as passing gas for me. Having a lack of smooth and ‘normal’ public social skills actually aids me in my writing. It is a part of what makes me , eh….. a decent writer…well, maybe.

In writing I have time to think over what I want to say and how the best way convey it effectively would be. In person, those lovely minutes are not afforded you. Instead, you have a few measly seconds to respond, which is why I won’t be running for president…..or having any lengthy conversations on the phone. Unless you are my mom or someone I have known for at least 10 years. Even then, it’s a roll of the dice. Call at your own risk.

Perhaps one day I will master my awkwardness and become more interesting to talk to,  I can only hope. Until then I am

Awkwardly Yours,

The Blankety Blank Blogger.

6 thoughts on “Awkwardly Yours

  1. Golly Gee… you sound like me! Here I was, hoping no one inherited it.
    But blog makes me feel like maybe it’s o.k. Thank you!

  2. Yep, I pretty much feel the same way. And I’m constantly making small talk with clients and potential clients. Sometimes I clam up even with people I’ve known for several years because no matter how hard I try there just doesn’t seem to be much making it’s way to the surface in that brain of mine.

    This is not the truth when you’re around. That’s when I truly feel like I’ve been given the gift of gab for that tiny bit of time!

Leave a Reply

