Gift-mas

Christmas comes and everything gets disorganized, turned upside down and loose. I am speaking for myself of course, as I am sure there are many out there who are extremely stream-lined and together with their weeks no matter what holiday is knocking on the door.

When the holidays approach with their stealthy and sneaky ways as they do, I have always been attuned to the fact that not everyone can give their kids presents and toys for Christmas. This year we have satellite television. How does having satellite T.V. and present lacking children go together? Well read on my friend, read on.

I flip on my T.V. at night, this is the time for me to unwind, maybe get onto my Pinterest account and look at creative ideas and pictures to spur me on in the world of art and home-making. Now, it has been some years since we have had any kind of cable or just regular T.V. When everything switched over to digital a few years back, my husband and I just said “Screw it”. And so, we have lived fairly content without the stimulant of visual entertainment.

However, when we moved up north, we knew we would need something in the winter times to keep us sane, as we do not deal well with cold weather. My husband being a born and bred southern boy and myself having lived the majority of my life in the South as well, snow and frigid winds are like our Kryptonite. To battle this weakness, we purchased satellite T.V.

I forgot how much Christmas takes over the T.V. Your regular programming is not so regular and everywhere you look, someone is desperately advertising some cool new gadget that “your kids will love!”.  I have been disgusted quite frankly, with the amount of Christmas commercials. Wether it’s for kids or for adults, it just seems so….greedy. And here is where present-lacking children and satellite t.v. collide.

I enjoy getting gifts and buying things, we all do. But, speaking as an American and having knowledge of our economic status here in the states, I have to wonder where these companies think we are getting our cash from. Yes there is the all mighty Credit card. My personal opinion and some may largely disagree with me, but having been incredibly in debt and also having dug myself out with hard work and luck, and then also having used a credit card in the past for gifts for my children, I can honestly say I will never buy a gift for anyone, including my kids, that I can not buy outright with cash. But that is hardly the point.

I want  my kids to have the best and yes I want to give them a great Christmas, but the overwhelming attack advertising of the media is sickening. An alternate reality plays for us on T.V., where boys and girls get everything they desire and the regular Father can afford brilliantly clear diamonds for his regular average American wife. It’s nothing short of a lie. Yet we are made to think that this is what is normal and what should be, so the pressure is on to live up to that standard.

To clarify, I think it is great if you can afford do this for your family, if you have the means to do so (and it isn’t sucking you further and further into the black-hole known as debt), after all we all want to provide the needs and also give some of the wants as well. When I look around at the state of our great nation and the children in need at our footstep, I can’t help but think that all the overboard spending could be spent in a better more productive way.

So buy your kids something, buy them 4 things but don’t forget what Christmas should be about, it’s not just gifts and spending our selves silly. In the words of the famous book How the Grinch Stole Christmas,

“And the Grinch, with his Grinch-feet ice-cold in the snow,

stood puzzling and puzzling, how could it be so? It came without ribbons.

It came without tags. It came without packages, boxes or bags.

And he puzzled and puzzled ’till his puzzler was sore.

Then the Grinch thought of something he hadn’t before.

What if Christmas, he thought, doesn’t come from a store.

What if Christmas, perhaps, means a little bit more.”

And yes this message can be cliché and already I can hear people saying “That’s all good and fine but it is about gifts.” I don’t argue their side as commercials show that to be true, but perhaps if we invested ourselves a bit more in the ‘Christmas is about celebrating each other’ side of things, when hard times come it wouldn’t feel so lonely and poor but rich and warm.

In the end, the toys break and we lose the diamonds but our friends , children and family are there.

This holiday I will be toasting my friends and family near and far, celebrating their lives and their contribution to my own life. May you do the same, enjoying your gifts and gift giving but treasuring your loved ones more.

Happy Christmas Folks.

6 thoughts on “Gift-mas

  1. Outstanding and I am hearing similar opinions from many this year. Gifts are over rated and actually arent really gifts unless they involve sacrifice. Anyone with money can go out and purchase a gift…but true gifts the ones that matter are offered from the heart and are a sacrifice of some sort…at least that is my feeling.

  2. I never had thought about it until recently when I saw what we had as opposed to what others didn’t. We wanna give our kids everything… But yet sometimes all that comes across us selfishness and greediness. I don’t want that for my kids.

    • Agreed, It’s great to give your children what you can but it’s also good to make them aware and stay aware yourself of what others don’t have in comparison. I have tried to make Christmas about family and friends, now my kids of course look at it as “that holiday we get gifts”, but my hope is as they get older and mature, with my influence, they will see the other side too. Thanks for reading!

  3. That’s why I am doing Christmas a bit different that normal this year. Instead of a tree full of gifts we are only getting them a few things. We are using the money to take a holiday trip, spend time with the kids and create fun memories instead 🙂

    Love your post!

Leave a Reply

