Awards, Facts and Nominees….

I still have three incredibly fascinating things to divulge about myself before I can pass on this award of Versatile Blogger onto other deserving folk. So here are my last three.

5. I am a fan of the twilight movies. Yes, I am a twi-hard. Now I do have to agree with Stephen King that they really aren’t very good literary works, they are basicly a soap opera for teens. He compares the Twilight Series to Harry Potter.

“Harry Potter is about confronting fears, finding inner strength and doing what is right in the face of adversity. Twilight is about how important it is to have a boyfriend.”
― Stephen King

And, well I have to agree, but that being said, the series has been a guilty pleasure of mine and before you ask…I’m team Edward, only because I think Jacob is cocky and arrogant.

6. I will be married 13 years this coming March. It has been an amazing ride. We have had our ups and downs, our extreme goods and our extreme bads, but we believe in what we are doing and we love each other. Marriage isn’t all rainbows and butterflies and I think today people enter into it with unreal expectations, thinking it will complete them as a person (recipe for disaster), or it will be like a romantic novel where yes, you have your differences but then everything ends up in a torrent of skin,flesh and desire and that somehow that makes it better.

I married my best friend, he is way different from me and i from him and naturally you get on one another’s nerves and argue but real people and real relationship is worth the fight. Getting over yourselves in order to see the problem and correct it is a worthwhile journey and only brings more depth to your relationship. I wouldn’t change a thing in the past with my hubs and I, it has all brought us closer and helped us understand one another fully.

Each year I am amazed by my hairy bearded man, he keeps me growing and on my toes. He challenges me in ways I never have been challenged and ultimately he wants to see me succeed in every possible way, as a mom, a writer, an artists and person. he keeps me sane.

7. Here we are at the edge of Maggie. I am originally from nowhere. My parents traveled a lot. I was born in Anderson Indiana and by the time I was 6 I had lived in Jacksonville and Panama City Florida, New England Massachusetts and then Galesburg Illinois. Galesburg is the general area that my family is from. My parents bought a house and we lived there (here) until I was about 12 when we moved to Lindale Texas for two years and finally New Orleans where I met my husband and had my first child. We left the year before Katrina and have been on the road since. From Galesburg Illinois to Deland Florida and then to Marion, Virginia and Columbia South Carolina and then back to New orleans for a couple of years and finally we are back in Illinois. I have loved everywhere I have lived and I loved the traveling as a child and as an adult, but with two kids now the moving gets a little tiresome for them and for us. I do however miss the South, it was the most influential on me as a young one and it still is my compass for how I live life and how I raise my kids.

Okay so the Nominees are…….(opening the golden envelope)

Dorky Deb: She is still one of my favorite bloggers and she has a lot of the things she juggles in life, and I’m not talkin’ your normal stuff either. She is worth the read every time.

Stacy Boe Miller: I have known this lady for a while now, I think we met when I was about 15 or 16 and she was 17 or 18. Anyways, she is an amazing person and she makes very cool jewelry (Yay! Jewelry!) , works at a school and has 3 beautiful children and an equally cool husband (thank god cause it sucks when your friend marries an asshole! Haha). She writes about jogging with a rainbow flag, her children’s fashion sense and just life, normal life and I love it. She is also a poet, another big love of mine.

BarrelRider: This is a talented guy. We first met him in South Carolina when my husband was tattooing there shortly after the tattoo ban was lifted. He wanted to tattoo badly  and was already an accomplished artist on paper. We had become friends with him and Dale agreed to an apprenticeship and BarrelRider embraced the challenge and is now, through his own hard work, an amazing tattoo artist. He often finds odd or old artwork and posts them with really savvy quotes. He couples this with a photo journal of his daily tattoos. A great guy, a great artist and great blog.

The Good Greatsby: Although this guy doesn’t really need my nomination because I think his blog speaks very well for his versatility, he’s getting the damned thing anyways. I enjoy his blog, it’s funny and he talks about everything. No subject is sacred. A HUGE plus for me.

and finally….

Wes Lang: An artist that has one of the best philosophies in life  and it’s simple to its core. His paintings mesmerize me and I just like them, no deep explanation needed. I would love to one day buy one but alas my purse is too small right now, until then I will enjoy the blog.

So there you have it. Hope you check out the blogs, they are worth the time.

4 thoughts on “Awards, Facts and Nominees….

  1. Pingback: » Thankful November – Day 17 DorkyDeb.com

  2. Team Edward here – LOL! I’m loving The Good Greatsby. Awesome blog! He’s got me laughing first thing in the morning and that’s no easy feat.

Leave a Reply

