Behind and catching up.

Today I ran out of coffee. I know, I don’t know how it happened and I am so ashamed. Luckily, I happened to have some Lapsang Souchong lying around from when my mom brought over tea. Lapsang Souchong is a smokey black tea, though now that I say that, it could be a roobis tea. Either way it is delicious and is hitting the spot. So This morning I am thankful for tea and the hands that brought it to me, my mom.

I am a bit behind on the thankfulness train. It’s not that it has been terribly busy, but at the same time I also feel like I haven’t had the time to sit down. So I think I owe two more thanks and who know maybe I will throw in a another for the hell of it.

Last night myself and my children along with my cousin and her kids went over to my Aunt Teresa’s (my cuz’s mom) and met her and my mom for food and wine. The kids played and we ate and drank for several hours. It was a lot of fun. It’s been a long time since all of us have been in the same spot so it was very nice and to have the time together. Growing up my cousin and I were as close as sisters. We have remained close. Of course now we are both married and we both have 2 kids and hopefully our conversation is more mature (though that might be debatable). It has been a bit of a tradition since we were kids for the four of us (moms and daughters) to get together and do stuff when we could and though it had been many years, that tradition was carried on again last night. So, I am thankful for the ladies involved in this group, my mom, my Aunt Teresa and my Cousin Crystal. I hope for may more years of this.

Okay One to go.

The other day a friend of mine traveled an hour to do my daughter’s hair, which was really awesome. Hattie is now sporting black and pink. She loves it and I am so happy she was able to get it done. Growing up restraints on music and clothing and hair were never put on me and it was possibly one of the greatest gifts my folks could have passed on. I just feel that there are far more important things to put your foot down on, hair shouldn’t be one of them.

The Lady Hattie-Belle

And last not least, I received a blog award! So I am very thankful for that because that means you like me, you really like me! I will blog about this in my next blog. It truly helped to turn a mad day of not so great things, into a better and beautiful day.

10 thoughts on “Behind and catching up.

  1. You are such an awesome mom. I am cool with that too.
    However, my daughter is 6 yo and she wants to wear high heeled boots like another little girl in her school.
    There I draw the line.

  2. Her hair looks beautiful! I am with you on restraining self expression and creativity. That’s why my youngest sported a kick ass mohawk for years (it’s making a comeback soon) that was sometimes green or purple. That’s also why my oldest has his ears pierced ( against popular opinion ) and 13 wears mismatched shoes and fake tattoos. I love my kids and their spunky personalities. Bring it!

    Now on to a more serious topic………YOU..RAN..OUT…OF…COOOFFFEEEE??????

  3. Yes, it was a great time. Some of my greatest memories are times such as what we had last night. I feel very fortunate to have you and Aunt La in my life!

    And this blog has also left me with another important thought – I need to check and see how much coffee i have left – Good God, is there enough in there to last the week? I’m not sure now and I need to check!

Leave a Reply

