On becoming Cynical.

Don’t Let Us Get Sick by Warren Zevon

Don’t let us get sick
Don’t let us get old
Don’t let us get stupid, all right?
Just make us be brave
And make us play nice
And let us be together tonight

The sky was on fire
When I walked to the mill
To take up the slack in the line
I thought of my friends
And the troubles they’ve had
To keep me from thinking of mine

Don’t let us get sick
Don’t let us get old
Don’t let us get stupid, all right?
Just make us be brave
And make us play nice
And let us be together tonight

The moon has a face
And it smiles on the lake
And causes the ripples in Time
I’m lucky to be here
With someone I like
Who maketh my spirit to shine

Don’t let us get sick
Don’t let us get old
Don’t let us get stupid, all right?
Just make us be brave
And make us play nice
And let us be together tonight

 

I love this song. There is another like it called “Don’t Forget Me” by Harry Nillson that has the same feel to it. These songs break life down to simplicity, past all the heartache and silly frustrations.

And they, along with my children, have done the great service to remind me how cynical I have become. Life offers us so much happiness and various joys through learning and through mistakes, through good times and through better times. But it is the heartache and disaster and anger that is often held on to. It is the asshole who angered us when they yelled out at us for no real reason, other than he was having a very grumpy day and you were in his way (this may have happened to me recently). It is the chance we didn’t take, or the way life has unfolded in a way we didn’t expect. I believe it to be easier to focus on the bad then to challenge it and let it go. And in holding onto these things, we forget the happiness, we forget how much beauty there is in the simplicity of every day living.

Again, my children remind me how cynical I have become. They remind me to laugh at the stupids (AKA grumpy folk) and embrace the now. Kids operate in the present, which can be a very freeing thing. They don’t worry about time schedules or how perfect a line is when they draw, they operate purely from the heart. They laugh at the silly things instead of letting it get to them.

I realise this is a peaceful notion and that it is not always possible to carry this attitude and approach with us, but whenever we can we should, we need to carry it with us, lest we forget it all together.

I have been letting go of a lot of old bottled up things in the last few years and it has been a slow process but I feel like I am finally coming out of it. I am sorry to be so personal but then, this is the blog so i guess if you don’t like it, you don’t have to read it. One day my blog may be less personal like so much of the world, blighted and held down by the handshake, I hope not but if so, maybe you can check back then.

Anyways,  like Warren Zevon says, “Don’t let us get stupid alright?”. I hope with the future and each rising of the un that I shed a bit more of my cynical ways, because in the end it doesn’t matter and it’s time to get happy.

I will leave you with my favorite lines from the song above, they are very poetic and exactly what I think of when I think of growing old with my husband and my friends and family.

The moon has a face
And it smiles on the lake
And causes the ripples in Time
I’m lucky to be here
With someone I like
Who maketh my spirit to shine

Warren Zevon died of cancer at the age of 56 in 2003, three years after this song and it’s album were released. Below is the video of the song. I hope you enjoy it.

4 thoughts on “On becoming Cynical.

Leave a Reply

