Tales from the Darkside, Twilight Zone, Creepshow and Tales from the Crypt: Modern Morality Tales

When I was a kid there were few songs that could stand my hair on end like the theme song to ‘The Twilight Zone’. I would say there are many who would agree. The back and forth tones that play eerily well together and then the bizarre nature of the stories laid out for us to contemplate. For all their creepiness, there are lessons to be learned.

The Twilight Zone, Tales from the Darkside, Tales from the crypt and even Creepshow all have the feel of modern-day morality tales. Don’t be too selfish or you may just get what you want to its most extreme measure. Likewise, don’t mistreat others or one day the roles may be switched.

I remember one episode of I think Twilight zone,where there was a man who was a very hateful person and he went on this rampage about how he was superior from all other races etc. When he awoke the next day he was smack dab in the middle of the holocaust and he was branded as a jew. Yeah, bad ending for him but great lesson for us.

Another featured a family that had their grandmother living with them (Tales from the Darkside). The grandmother was often overlooked and treated badly. One day they were tired of “taking care” of her and on her birthday as her ‘gift’ they decided to put her in a nursing home. She made a wish. The next day, slowly ย each member of the family fell victim to old age in some way or form and of course, in the end it was they that ended up in the nursing home. The grandmother on the other hand was youthful again. Go Grandma!

These tales give a sense of what’s right and they make a definite stance on what’s wrong and they do it in a way that relates to each decade of people. I find it refreshing.

In a world that seems to put a higher value on the disposable things in life and ignores what is truly important, it is nice to see values being displayed so prominently.

Like these TV shows, the Grimm Brothers wrote wonderful tales of woe with a lesson attached to them. They are scary in some cases and exciting. Then Disney came along and made a bastard of them. Not that I dislike Disney, I don’t, but we try to gloss over everything now days to make it easier to swallow. We sell ourselves on fairy tales and it’s not reality at all.

Anyways, that was a rabbit I was chasing, sorry. Regarding Tales of The Darkside etc, the silly thing is, I know that some folks see these shows as offensive and without meaning but I doubt many of those people have actually sat down to watch them.

So tonight I hold my glass up to all of these wonderful TV programs. Please keeping scaring me silly and teaching me about life.

11 thoughts on “Tales from the Darkside, Twilight Zone, Creepshow and Tales from the Crypt: Modern Morality Tales

  1. Not sure I have ever seen any of these tales but I do know there seems to be a strange justice system in place in them. It is only the last generation or two who see no consequences to our actions. I will be old someday…Ha Ha and I try to be kind to old people..Love the article

  2. One of the things that annoys me with “children’s” TV & movies these days (especially TV) is that there often isn’t any real lessons. No good guys vs bad guys. They have to make the good guys screw up and the bad guys sympathetic in some way. No black and white, just grey.

    • Agreed. For the longest time we didn’t have any tv, by this I mean we had a tv but we never bought the converter box and so therefore it was only good for movies. Now we have The Dish and whole I enjoy the history channel and indulging in my nerdy loves like Murder She Wrote, there are a ton of children shows that are awful! The only good programming it seems is mostly geared towards toddlers like, sesame street, curious george, Go Diego go and backyardagains. All of these mostly teach school skills or manners, which is great but that seems to be where the education stops. The rest is all very very stupid in writing and un-intellegent. I won’t let Hattie watch most of the programming because I don’t want her to lose brain cells. Not that all entertainment has to be educational but it needs to hold certain values for my children. I don’t ever want my kids to think they can treat adults like idiots or that adults are idiots because that’s the way it is in the show they were watching. I guess there is a balance in there too, Anyways that was my rant!

  3. A really really great post – I enjoyed reading this one. And I agree wholeheartedly with much of your last comment. We have gotten much more lax than I intended with Boo’s tv watching and I’m trying to find a happy medium with it, because like you I think much of what is on for chidlren is crap. I especially despise many of the teenybopper shows on the Disney channel. Hey, to each his own, but for me it seems like they are geared to a pretty young audience and yet girls going gaga over boys is a common theme, disrespect between parents and children is presented as a norm, and our consumer-driven culture is prized.

  4. I LOVE all of these! I think that what made them so scary to me when I was younger was the fact that it taught me something. It made me relate to it more which made the horror of it that more real. great post ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

