Yay Kids!

I am watching ‘Teen Mom’ on MTV. I have to say these kids are impressing me. I am surprised at the level of maturity that some of them operate under. I can’t imagine being a mom at 14,15 or 16 years of age. It was hard enough for me to adjust to a planned child at 20. It makes me feel kind of like I’m a loser, ha!

Parenting is by the hardest job I have ever had. It’s never ending. It’s constant. It’s tiring. It’s life changing. Dr. Mike on ‘Teen Mom” just told Farrah (one of the mom’s) that it was time to let go of childhood fantasies. I think that part of becoming a mom, or part of the difficulty of becoming a mom, is the adjustment from care-free childlike freedom to having something that requires your attention and help to just live for the first 18 years of their life. Yes, children become more independent as they grow but we are their guides and hopefully, examples.

My first born, Hattie, is 10. She is the apple of my eye. She is beauty personified. She can make me madder than any other person on this planet. She is a lot like me. Seeing this mirror has spurred me on to be a better person and therefore help her to rise above her own problems and set backs. She has been my own personal challenger.

My son, Odin is 3. He saved my mental state when I found out I was pregnant with him. I was really going through some personal things, that were challenging me so much that my head was spinning so fast that I couldn’t make sense of any of it. He, I believe saved me form my own head.

Children are a God send, of that I am sure. Most of what I have learned and most of the steps towards growth I have taken, are due to my children.

I don’t have an eloquent way of ending this, Teen Mom just got me thinking. So suffice it to say, Yay Kids!

11 thoughts on “Yay Kids!

  1. I like this post! Yes, children also turned my life upside down. Having Boo brought unity to my marriage and also pulled me out of a depression. It’s funny how that works. Having Felix initially brought redemption from early mistakes that were made with Boo. Strangely his presence has compelled me to get my act together in terms of order and structure. I can’t imagine life without my children. Or yours…who else would tag team to steal my donuts?

  2. I am addicted to Teen Mom and I have to say agree with you. Some of them are especially mature!

    I agree with you on the kids. I can not picture my life without these brats. I even say that as my youngest peed on me this morning.

  3. marina – he was marking his territory – “MY mommy!” lol – My little love spit on me the other day. Seriously…spit. I took many many deep breaths after that!

    Yes, I think our boys will be a scary combination as they grow older. I think they will need all the watchful eyes we can spare and then some!

  4. I was a teenage parent and had my oldest at 16. I had two jobs and my own apartment and car. My family was never worth a damn and I didn’t have any help from anyone. I have never watched teen mom for the fact that I’ve just never felt compelled to. Not that it’s a bad show, just that I’ve never had the “want” to see it.

    I believe that some people, both men and women, are meant to be parents while others are not. The age at which you have children doesn’t change this fact. How people view you does though. I was taking better care of my son at age 16 than most 30 year olds but was looked down on because of my age. I would get funny looks and stares while out in public. It was ridiculous.

    If you are a great parent, you should be recognized as such. Not because you are a great parent at 16 or 40 but because you are a great parent. I still finished school and have 3 college degrees. I had all three of my kids by the age of 21.

    Great post 🙂

    • I agree that the age at which you have children doesn’t matter, but the maturity level does. I was no where ready to be a parent at 20. My head just wasn’t there BUT I did it and so far I don’t think I scarred my child too bad.

      I have the utmost respect for younger single parents, parenting is hard and I know i take comfort in my husband being there to help me raise my kids.

      Props to you lady for having the maturity and want to be a good mom. From what I read, sounds like you are doing it successfully!

  5. I’ve never seen Teen Mom. But I agree with you on how life changing and wonderful being a mother is. It’s the kind of thing that I can’t really put into words. I read something once that said something like… being a mother is having pieces of your heart that reside outside of your body. I’m probably misquoting it, but that was the gist of it, and I feel the same way.

Leave a Reply

