Friendship and Quarantine

I have been Quarantined for about a week now. My son is sick and so that means I have been in the house, stuck. I have cleaned, oh yes, I have cleaned. My poor daughter is feeling it too. But today no more! I will venture out in the truck and drop off library books. I will deposit money! Ok, so not the grande outing I would like but hey it’s better than sitting here and cleaning….again.

So as I have been at home, I have had a lot of time with my thoughts, which can be very good or just really depressing. I have contemplated friendship, the lines of it and boundaries that are placed on it. Reflecting on past and current relationships where the honesty has torn and has also brought us closer, I realize how precious  and fragile friendship can be.

True friendship demands honesty and sometimes that can hurt both the listener and yourself. But without the honesty, friendship has no legs to stand on so to speak. I have  grieved in times past to be so forthright with a friend over something that I knew was important and had to be said, because there was always the chance that I would lose that person in my life. But as with everything in life, you have to hold it with an open hand and be happy if it stays and treasure the best if it doesn’t.

I do not look forward to these moments in time. Ultimately it sucks. It’s like teetering on a tightrope. Your honesty can bring you a better, closer more intimate relationship with a person or it can ultimately drive them away. You have to choose your battle though. Is what I have to say worth the brutal truth or is this just a hang-up of my own. Other times the circumstance dictates what has to be done. And it is the circumstance that is the worst.

Arr!

There is no real rhyme or reason to this blog. It is merely thoughts that have been bouncing endlessly in my mind over the past week while I have been stuck in the house….

If I have another week of quarantine you might find me at a typewriter with the words “All Work and No Play, Make Jack a Dull Boy” typed with no spacing or punctuation. If

I start quoting “The Shining”, back away slowly…..Wait I just did that didn’t I?

Back-Away-S-L-O-W-L-Y. . . . . .

5 thoughts on “Friendship and Quarantine

  1. Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh
    “Little pigs, little pigs, let me come in. Not by the hair of your chiny-chin-chin? Well then I’ll huff and I’ll puff, and I’ll blow ”

    Remember that… still creepy!

  2. The Shining! Sorry your son is so sick. There’s been something going around here too and I usually end up with cabin fever. My family usually hides all the sharp objects in the house though 🙂 i hope he feels better soon!

  3. I am glad you got out of the house, even for a little trip. My health keeps me at home most of the time and I know how frustrating that can get. I too have a tendency to “think too much” (that’s what I call it – LOL).

    I don’t think people should be cruel in their honesty, because sometimes they don’t know anywhere close to the whole situation – when they think they do. But I would much rather have honest friends. I can’t stand two-faced people. I really can’t. I’d rather hang out with someone I disagree with, if I know they’ll be straight with me, than someone who is nice to my face and says God only knows what behind my back. But unfortunately most of the world seems to lean towards the two-faced these days it seems. I hate to say that, but I’ve had it done to me so many times that I’ve become a bit negative about it I suppose. 😉 Anyway, I’d take an honest friend any day.

    I hope everyone feels better soon!

    • I am with you. I have no time for people smiling at my face but talking behind my back. Truth is always better, I don’t like to guess.

      There is a tactful way to be honest with your friends. But I do think too that sometimes we have to divide what we think we need to say with what really NEEDS to be said, and then when we do that sometimes we find we should just keep our mouths shut and love and support our friends as much as we feel we can. I like that you mentioned how we sometimes do not know the whole situation and this is true.

      I too have become very skeptical of people the older I get because of bad experiences and the way the world goes. People of character are getting hard to find.

      Thanks for continuing to read my blog, I always enjoy your comments! They add to what has been said, which I love because it makes me think.

Leave a Reply

