The Happenings Around My World

I feel like I haven’t stopped in a few weeks. It’s a good feeling to be so busy that you feel worn out. I am totally serious here, it makes me feel good at the end of the day and it makes me appreciate my free time more.

Why so busy? Well Mardi Gras just passed and I passed a wonderful time with family and friends walking in the St. Ann parade and then hanging out with my brother, sister-in-law and kids.  I did not bring my cumbersome camera which I now fully regret but at the same time it was nice not hauling it around. I tried to steal some photos from my brothers FB page but i was unsuccessful as Fb seems to be on the look out for thieves like me. Fucking Fascists.

Also, my daughter turned 10. Wow, I don’t even know where to start. Ten. It’s a double digit isn’t it? What a mind freak! What a crazy notion that I am a mother to a 10 year old who will be 11, then 12, then 13 and so on. Sometimes I am still shocked that I am a mother at all, I  have said it before and I am continually reminded of it as I explore these uncharted waters of motherhood. None of us mom’s really know what we are doing, we just feel it out as we go. The woman who says she has it all togather when it comes to being a mom is a liar and thief and is probably trying o sell you a parenting book. Run. Run away fast.

They are also probably closet alcoholics.

Just a guess.

My daughters Birthday was full of fun and sugar. Nothing healthy at all about the menu there. She was visited by many friends who showered her with love and gifts. Several of our good friends from out of state called or texted and wished her happy bday and also sent packages. One set of her Grandparents showed up as well. She felt very loved and special indeed. I hope it doesn’t go to her head because reality is a mean bitch when she slaps you upside the head. In all seriousness, the calm down from the birthday is always an adjustment for any kid. God help me through the next week. Going back to school after a week of Mardi Gras and Birthday is going to be hard for her mind to handle and a challenge for me and my patience.

Anyways, I guess it’s back to the grind. I will leave you with my favorite happening below. M back piece is finally getting done. the outline is completed and healing. My husband is amazing.

 

Leave a Reply

