Saving CPB (PBS and NPR) Part Deux

I am happy to announce that I did hear pack from the Representative of Louisiana Cedric Richmond. I am also Happy to announce that he is on the side of Public Broadcasting! Below is his letter to me.

 

Dear Mrs. Kellett,

 

Thanks for contacting me about funding for the Corporation for Public Broadcasting (CPB) and National Public Radio(NPR).  I appreciate hearing your views on this important issue and I recognize the importance of public television and radio in our community.

 

As you may know, NPR syndicates programming for hundreds of public radio stations across the country. Individual member stations are non-commercial and educational and are a critical source of news for millions of Americans. Public broadcasting offers non-profit programming that reaches 98 percent of American households, including those without televisions. Public radio and television provide important educational programming to millions of children, vital health-care information to doctors, and forums for the discussion of public policy. I do not believe we should end federal support for the Corporation for Public Broadcasting (CPB), which provides grants that partially fund NPR.

 

For decades, public television and radio have provided some of the best-quality programming that can be found in either medium.  Generations of children were raised on such classic shows as “Sesame Street.” Public broadcasting is one of the most powerful forces available to inform the public and it can be an invaluable resource for citizens who strive to be educated and engaged on important issues facing our communities.  It would be a tremendous loss to the cultural heritage of our nation to lose the institution of public broadcasting.

 

Thanks again for sharing your thoughts, and I look forward to hearing from you again.  I would like to invite you to visit my website at http://richmond.house.gov/.  My office is here to serve you, so please do not hesitate to call us at (202) 225-6636 or (504) 288-3777 for further assistance.

 

 
Sincerely,

Congressman Cedric Richmond

 

 

The same day I recieved this I watched some Top Chef and who should be the guest Judges for the quick fire challenge? Sesame Street!!!! They judged cookies and yes Cookie Monster was there. Enjoy below.

 

 

Also I would like to give a shout out to my girl over at  http://marinasleeps.wordpress.com/

She is going to invent coffee drops for your eyes and I  have come up with it’s marketing slogan “Shit Just Got Real”. Anyways, she is a very funny lady and I am sure you will enjoy her blog, so go check her out!

 

One thought on “Saving CPB (PBS and NPR) Part Deux

Leave a Reply

