Lately I have been reading these lady bloggers. They make me want to go into comedy but I am not funny so something tells me I would truly be a starving artist (more so than I am now). Never-the-less they make me laugh and that is always the best medicine for anything bothersome, unless you just pushed a child out of your toot toot. Anyways I am trying to get back into a creative routine and reading their blogs along with going back to my artistic roots, i think I may succeed. I stopped investing in art for a long time, aside from playing music and now I am revisiting my favorite painter, Frida Kahlo. I mentioned in an earlier post that she made me want to paint, well her and the Shakespearian story of Titus and his daughter Lavinia. . Anyone who has read or seen a movie or gone to a play of ‘Titus’ knows it is macrabe, extremely unpleasent but also one of his greatest plays Shakespeare wrote. It is definitely a top tragedy. I bring up Titus as Lavinia, his daughter, is one of the first figures I ever painted. My painting however has none of the gore (shown above), well except for the hands, those are cut off and replaced with sticks as well. But other than that the Lavinia in my painting just looks really bummed out. And taking into consideration what she went through (tortured,raped, her tongue cut out, her hands cut off, should I go on? I think not), I think it is time to paint another Lavinia. This time with the correct emotions. This will undoubtedly be a challenge as I haven’t picked up a paintbrush in a few years.

I plan on studying some more Kahlo paintings for inspiration and re-acquainting myself with my latte ladies. For those who have not seen them, sorry you’ll have to wait.

On a completely different note, yesterday I traveled to Gretna with my friend and did a little thrift store shopping. After the storm the most gigantic thrift store in New Orleans moved itself out to Gretna, a 20-30 minute drive from the Quarter/Marigny/Bywater area. I am happy to report it is still full of awesomeness and has monthly sales. In fact, we were lucky enough to hit the 50% off sale. This means EVERYTHING in the store was half off. I spent 18 bucks and came home with 2 pairs of jeans, 2 tops, a pair of fo-snake skin loafers (aerosoles to boot), a skirt for Hattie and a shirt for Hattie as well. That my friends is shopping! I may have to make this a monthly trip. Seriously! 20 bucks goes a long way on half off Thursdays (every third Thursday of the month)!

Well, I am off to do something incredibly artistic, like this work of art below.

2 thoughts on “

  1. Okay, I have to tell you I used to live in NOLA, and I am so jealous and simultaneously happy to hear that you were in Gretna doing some thrift store shopping.

    I know this has little to do with your bloggy-blog, but who would have ever known that words like Gretna and Marigny would sound so beautiful!

    So thank you for visiting my blog today and writing about your tattoos. You made me happy. I hope you’ll come back! 🙂

    http://rasjacobson.wordpress.com

    • Once an New Orleanian, always a New Orleanian. It gets under your skin. Once you experience it, it never leaves you. I love it. I didn’t grow up here. i moved here when I was 13 from a small Midwestern town in Illinois. What a shock and pleasant discovery! Thanks for commenting! I check your blog about every other day, you always seem to have something positive and intellegent to say and I like that. Come visit me again anytime!

Leave a Reply

