I have done myself proud with my cooking tonight. nothing special just regular food but it’s all delicious. I made some brats by first searing them off, adding red bell peppers, the holy trinity w/ garlic(celery onions bells) , some home made chicken broth with salt pepper and a shot of worchestshire and liquid smoke. I cooked the brats, removed them and the red bells. Then I proceeded to make the gravy out of the broth and juices from the brats. To go with all this is some steamed brocoli dressed wiht olive oil, salt and pepper and some cooked carrots with olive oil, salt, pepper and herb de provence. I also mage some garlic mashers and cucumber and tomato salad. A feast!!!! The kids are eating now.

Hattie has been slowly going through the practice LEAP test. This is for me really. I am not for testing for the most part but when used as a guide to help you understand where exactly your child needs to be pushed, then testing can be a great tool. There are some learning issues that lay secretly hidden from you and they sometimes are not discovered except by chance. I use random testing to help me discover these hidden issues, and the LEAP prectice test is a good basic review. A lot is going to change with Hattie’s schooling this year as it will be a bit more demanding and more independent. She will be required to do more research on her own and in general just be more independent in her studies. I love Homeschooling her as it lets her learn  at her own pace and there isn’t the pressure to grasp a concept in only a couple short lessons, she can,if needed spend extra time on it with no fear of failing. Sometimes I feel like my brain may explode form trying to help her understand in her own way but it is well worth the time and effort.

Odin as I have said in previous posts is a terrible two year old, which means I am chasing, saying no to almost everything he touches, redirecting his attention to those things he can touch and I am trying to tame his language. Kids always pick up on all the bad stuff. I figured with My sailors language he would indeed be saying some terrible things, but as it turns out most of what he is repeating is from Hattie’s movies, like Spiderwick and Spirited Away, both of which have bratty kids. But, he laughs and smiles almost constantly and he loves to get close to yourface and put his hands on your cheeks then press quite strongly with his forhead against yours. Those are his hugs. He adores Hattie.

Well, we are not traveling yet. I want to soooooooo bad but it isn’t in the cards, responsibility’s a bitch.

I guess that’s us in a nutshell. This has been my second post and for those who read my earlier one and are wondering if I ever got that nap, well that wasn’t in the cards either. I will leave with this awesome quote I heard on the last episode of The Tudors.

“Praise the God of all, Drink the wine and let the world be the world.”

Leave a Reply

