Making Mistakes.

Side Note: OK-First off, once again my girl over at MarinaSleeps had a wonderful brainy idea. Us bloggers should send out care packages to one another. If you are interested in this idea, take a look at her blog on it Here She is very witty and I love supporting a fellow mom/blogger and their ideas.

So it’s morning. I have been thinking over my mental to-do list. It seems lengthy, quite lengthy. I need to write it all down before it floats out of my pretty little head. Orginazation I believe is the key to mental wellness, well that and honesty with yourself about yourself. Combine those two things and you can accomplish everything.

As many of you know I have been on a self discovery journey for over 3 years now. It ha sucked some major cellulite ass. Dimples and all. I won’t say it’s beautiful though the outcome hopefully is and will be. Honesty is key to self discovery. If you can’t be honest with yourself about who you are and your failings, how in the hell do you expect to know or have any depth of a realtionship with anyone else?

This is easily preached. Falling back into bad habits is just as easy as well. The other night I did just that. A person was telling me something they would like to do and I really felt like it was delusional, this was my honest opinion. But to my horror I heard myself say, “You should do it!” or something along those encouraging lines.  Here’s the thing, yes it could be looked at as being supportive but what am I encouraging? Also this person was someone who usually blames others for their mistakes so if they were to do this thing on my encouragement of  “you should do it”, most likely I would be partially blamed for it not working out. I could be encouraging them to their demise all because I felt the pressure to agree with them.  Now I am not saying you should tell a person they are delusional but Giving them a road map to their delusions is very irresponsible and stupid. How very very stupid.There is a happy medium in there.

So I am honest with myself and now I have to be more mindful of myself in those situations.

Like I said self discovery is a bitch. I am not sure we ever end in that journey. I think we learn new things about ourselves each year that we didn’t know was hiding in us. I firmly believe that we never stop learning. If we do then we have sentenced ourselves to a living death.

There is a quote I LOVE by T.S. Elliot

“We shall not cease from exploration. And the end of all our exploring will be to arrive where we started and know the place for the first time.”

I know more about myself, good and bad, now then I did 5 years ago. With a little work and some self made luck I hope to know even more another 5 years from now. I never want to cease exploration or learning. To do so would be ignorant and stupid among just a waste of a life.

So to my mistakes, I cheer you! I hope to make more, though smaller in size so that I learn my lesson and grow. And also that I might know myself truly and throughly at the end of my days.

4 thoughts on “Making Mistakes.

    • Couldn’t have said it better. It’s like the serenity prayer…Grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change,
      The courage to change the things I cannot accept,
      And the wisdom to hide the bodies of those people
      I had to kill today because they pissed me off.

      Wait wrong version….

  1. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve told someone with a plastered smile “That’s great” when what I’ve really been thinking is “What the hell?” It’s a horrible horrible habit and it’s hard to break. It’s that Cherrington – so horrified to accidentally offend someone – gene!

Leave a comment